Get Certified Now
Get Recertified Now
Apply for Reciprocal Certififcation
Register Now

What is Certification and Why is it Important?

CAMSC corporate members are investing in an inclusive supply chain for a variety of reasons, such as the opportunity to access newer innovative suppliers, as well as the opportunity to create wealth, employment, and build brand loyalty with aboriginal and minority communities.

CAMSC certifies that businesses that are 51% or more owned, managed and controlled by Aboriginal peoples and/or visible minorities, and provide the products/services outlined in their supplier profile. For purpose of CAMSC Certification, visible minority is based on ethnic origin and not gender.

CAMSC's thorough review of documentation and site visit provides CAMSC corporate members with the certainty that their investments in supplier inclusion are reaching the intended businesses, and therefore have a greater likelihood of achieving their business objectives.

CAMSC is closely affiliated with the NMSDC, and follows the same certification process.  As a result, through the NMSDC-CAMSC reciprocity agreement, CAMSC certification is both nationally recognized in Canada, as well as accepted across the NMSDC network in the US.


Certification Criteria

Your business is eligible for certification if:

  • The business is 51% or more owned by visible minority(s) or Aboriginal person(s)
  • The business is 51% or more managed and controlled by visible minority(s) or Aboriginal person(s)
  • The business is a for-profit enterprise
  • The business operates in Canada
  • The business owner(s) is a Canadian or US citizen
  • The business may be of any size
  • The business is able to operate as a supplier of products or services to other businesses.

Definitions (as defined by the Employment Equity Act (S.C. 1995, c.44):

Aboriginal peoples: means persons who are First Nations (Indians), Inuit or Métis.

Visible minorities: means persons other than Aboriginal peoples, who are non-Caucasian in race or non-white in colour. In practice, the Government of Canada includes the following groups: Blacks, Chinese, Filipinos, Japanese, Koreans, Latin Americans, Pacific Islanders, South Asians, and West Asians/Arabs.